Comic Central: X-Men Legacy #263

Just looked, and it’s been awhile since I posted anything, so let’s start off with my favorite thing: Comic Central!

In this issue, we pick up with last issue’s revelation that the adults over at Utopia did not receive Rogue’s distress call, but the kids–namely Hope‘s group (Hope, Transonic, Primal, Dust, Velocidad, Surge, Zero, and Pixie).

Obviously Wolverine is TICKED.  And in this issue, my hate (or dislike) of Hope increases. Especially with this line: “No, Rogue. Your students are kids. We’re soldiers. Now let me do my job.”

Going off-track for a few seconds, I just want to point out something I’ve been going over in my head: Hope is annoying as heck. As far as I’m concerned, after AvX, I hope the Avengers do take her away and lock her up. Especially with how she views young mutants, but I’ll get to that in a minute.

What occurs next is Hope battling Exodus. Soon Wolverine brings his plan into action: hitting him one after the other, but only after Hope and Rogue absorb some of his powers (only a fraction, which seems to be all they need). In three waves of attacks, the X-Men are able to bring him down.

Even thought they beat him, he says he’s won. Mostly because he’s proved that they needed to work together to bring him down, and that soon the X-Men would be reunited (well, after Cyclops is dead, of course). Hopefully, though, we’ll get a few great years with this schism, because honestly, I’m loving it.

At the end of the issue, Hope’s team insists that their side (Cyclop’s) was right, since Wolvy and Rogue needed to use them as soldiers. Dust ends up saying that Rogue and her side have deluded themselves into thinking that not fighting is a choice (what a bitch).

If the kids end up fighting as soldiers, they might end up like Wolverine or Magneto, but the kids seem okay with that. Which, to me, makes an even stronger point for Wolverine’s side. These kids have resigned themselves to their fate, but that’s not right. No child should fight as soldiers. You don’t see the U.S. doing something like that, right? Also, the kids are going to have some major damage done to how they live life. What happens when mutants are no longer feared and hated? How will they adjust?

Because of all that Rogue had done, Wolverine tells her he no longer trusts her. I wouldn’t either, if I were him. She went directly behind his back, basically in the hopes of seeing her boyfriend (who is an old man, which I find highly inappropriate and gross).

In the closing panels, a mutant who can sense the future (Blindfold), assures her fellow students that it is not over (implying Exodus will be back; he’s even smiling in his cage on Utopia, the exact place he wanted to be. Smooth move, Hope.).

Again I’ll point out I could do without Baldeon on art duties. I much prefer the superior cover artist, Brooks, as interior artist. Luckily we get a, possibly, fill-in artist for the next arc which revolves around Omega and Mimic.

Tomorrow I’ll be doing a post on X-Men Legacy #264, so look out for that.

This entry was posted in Comic Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

